Back to top

CAUT awards presented to professors Malinda S. Smith and Rolland Gaudet

Two eminent professors received awards for their outstanding contributions to equity and collective bargaining at the 79th Council Meeting of the Canadian Association of University Teachers.

University of Alberta political science professor Malinda S. Smith was the recipient of the 2015 Equity Award. She has worked for over 20 years to improve the status of women, racialized minorities, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and LGBTQ2S in the university and broader community.

“Justice is a labour of love,” Professor Smith remarked when accepting the award. “We teach and research in spaces of dispossession and must respond to the fierce urgency of now. In the face of tyrants allergic to human rights, we must create new vision of more just futures.”

Professor Rolland Gaudet recently retired from Université de Saint-Boniface, where he taught for many years. Described as a "meticulous, respected, experienced and gifted pedagogue and negotiator," Gaudet was presented the 2015 Donald C. Savage Award for his outstanding contributions to collective bargaining in the post-secondary sector.

“We are proud to recognize the exceptional dedication by these eminent scholars and committed activists,” said CAUT president Robin Vose. “Warm congratulations to both Malinda S. Smith and Rolland Gaudet for their exemplary leadership.”