Back to top

Executive Committee

Established in 1951, CAUT is the national voice of the university body. CAUT represents more than 72,000 professors, librarians, researchers and other academics and is committed to academic freedom and is actively working in the public interest to improve the quality and accessibility of post-secondary education in Canada.

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS - Representative-at-large (Aboriginal)

CAUT is seeking nominations to fill a vacancy for the position of Representative-at-Large (Aboriginal) on the Executive Committee (for term ending April 2023). The nomination procedures, description of the position and term of office, and CAUT’s Release Time Policy are available here.

Deadline for submitting nominations: November 1, 2022.

Executive Committee Members 2022-2023

Peter McInnis 


St. Francis Xavier (ST.FXAUT) 

Robin Whitaker 


Memorial (MUNFA) 

Yalla Sangaré 


Sainte-Anne (APPBUSA) 

Brenda Austin-Smith 

Past President 

Manitoba (UMFA) 

Patrick Noël 

Representative-at-large Francophone 

Saint-Boniface (APPUSB) 

Chantale Jeanrie 

Representative-at-large Quebec 

Université Laval (SPUL) 

Shirley Chau 

Representative-at-large General 

British Columbia (UBC) 

Claudia Steinke 

Representative-at-large General 

Lethbridge (ULFA) 

Alison Hearn 

Chair Academic Freedom & Tenure Committee 

Western (UWOFA) 

Nick Papatheodorakos 

Chair Contract Academic Staff Committee 

Concordia Part-Time (CUPFA) 

Kate Cushon 

Chair Librarians' & Archivists' Committee 

Regina (URFA) 

Larry Savage 

Chair Collective Bargaining and Organizing Committee 

Brock (BUFA) 

Susan Spronk 

Co-Chair Equity Committee 

Ottawa (APUO) 

Marvin Claybourn 

Co-Chair Equity Committee 

St. Thomas (FAUST)

David Robinson 

Executive Director