Back to top

The Bernice Schrank Award

Nomination Form & Deadline

Nominations for the award can be made using this form.The deadline for submissions for nominations will be February 1st of each year.


The Bernice Schrank Award was created in 2013 to recognize outstanding contributions to the enforcement of academic staff workplace rights through grievance/arbitration.


Eligible candidates must be or have been academic staff, groups, or associations at a Canadian post-secondary institution.

The candidates' achievement(s) must include:

  • a demonstrable history of consistent and active defense of collective agreement provisions through the grievance process over a long period of time;
  • leadership within local, provincial, or national associations; and
  • educational initiatives associated with the transmission of grievance handling knowledge and skills.

The candidates’ contributions, although they may have been focused locally in a single university or college, must have had regional or national implications.

CAUT will solicit nominations in the fall of each year. The deadline for submissions for nominations will be February 1st of each year. Nominations will be reviewed by the CAUT Executive Committee and recommendations will be forwarded to CAUT Council. The number and frequency of awards will be as the Executive Committee of CAUT and the CAUT Council deem appropriate. Actively serving members of the CAUT Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.


Recommendations to the Executive Committee for its nomination to Council should include the following:

  • a letter of nomination giving a detailed statement describing specifically the contributions and achievements of the candidate(s) as they relate to the advancement of grievance handling in the post-secondary sector;
  • a letter of support from a CAUT member association (if the letter of nomination has not come from a CAUT member association);
  • relevant supporting documents such as:
    • a curriculum vitae, where appropriate; and
    • other letters of support.

The Executive Committee may gather additional information as it feels necessary to assist in its decision making.

Academic staff associations, grievance committees, or any other interested parties are invited to submit recommendations for the award.

Recommendations should be addressed to: President, CAUT, c/o Canadian Association of University Teachers, 2705 Queensview Drive, Ottawa, ON K2B 8K2.

Approved by the CAUT Council, November 2015;
Approved by the CAUT Council, November 2019;
Approved by the CAUT Council, April 2024.


2021-2022 – Sheila Embleton (York)
2020-2021 – Jeannette Gaudet (St. Thomas)
2019-2020 – Linda St-Pierre (Laurentian)
2018-2019 – Marc Patry (Saint Mary’s)
2017-2018 – Tess Hooks (Western Ontario)