Back to top

CAUT welcomes new leadership

The Canadian Association of University Teachers—the national voice of academic and professional staff at 125 universities and colleges across Canada—elected new leadership at its 92nd Council meeting, a hybrid in-person and online meeting held in Ottawa last week.

“We are coming out of the pandemic stronger than ever, having learned through six recent strikes the importance of solidarity,” said Peter McInnis, CAUT’s newly elected President, and a professor of history at St-Francis Xavier University in Nova Scotia.  “Post-secondary education is worth fighting for—not only for our profession, but for the future of our country and our democracy.  This a moment of opportunity, and we should embrace it.”

Robin Whitaker, an anthropology professor from Memorial University in Newfoundland, was elected Vice-President.  Yalla Sangaré from Université Sainte-Anne was re-elected as Treasurer.

The full membership of the CAUT Executive Committee for 2022-2023 is as follows:

President: Peter McInnis – St-Francis Xavier University (St. Francis Xavier University Association of University Teachers, StFXAUT)

Vice-President:  Robin Whitaker – Memorial University (Memorial University Faculty Association, MUNFA)

Treasurer:  Yalla Sangaré – Université Sainte-Anne (Association des professeurs et bibliothécaires de l’Université Sainte-Anne, APPBUSA) 

Past President: Brenda Austin-Smith – University of Manitoba (University of Manitoba Faculty Association, UMFA)

Chair, Collective Bargaining & Organizing Committee: Larry Savage, Brock University (Brock University Faculty Association, BUFA)

Co-Chairs, Equity Committee:   Marvin Claybourn, University of St. Thomas, Faculty Association of the University of St. Thomas, FAUST) and Susan Spronk, University of Ottawa (Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa, APUO)

Chair, Academic Freedom & Tenure: Alison Hearn, University of Western Ontario (University of Western Ontario Faculty Association, UWOFA)

Chair, Contract Academic Staff Committee: Nick Papatheodorakos, Concordia University, Concordia University Part-Time Faculty Association, CUPFA)

Chair, Librarians’ and Archivists’ Committee: Kate Cushon, University of Regina (University of Regina Faculty Association, URFA) 

Representative-at-large, Aboriginal: Priscilla Settee, University of Saskatchewan (University of Saskatchewan Faculty Association, USFA) 

Representative-at-large, Francophone : Patrick Noël, Université de Saint-Boniface (Association des professeures et professeurs de l'Université de Saint-Boniface, APPUSB) 

Representative-at-large, Quebec : Chantale Jeanrie, Université Laval (Syndicat des professeurs et professeures de l'Université Laval, SPUL) 

Representative-at-large, General:

Executive Director (ex-officio): David Robinson


For more information, please contact Mafoya Dossoumon, Communications Officer,