Back to top

Excellence in Post-Secondary Education Journalism

Nomination Form & Deadline

Nominations for the award can be made by using this form. Please note that the application period for the 2020 award is presently closed. More details for the 2021 award will be available later.


Established in 2001, these awards for outstanding reporting are presented by the Canadian Association of University Teachers to recognize and promote in-depth and thoughtful coverage of issues related to post-secondary education in Canada. Two awards are offered: one to recognize excellence in the student media, and the other to honour outstanding reporting in the professional print and broadcast media. Each award is worth $1,000.

Criteria and eligibility

Stories, articles (excluding editorials and columns), documentaries, or series produced during the preceding calendar year and appearing in any Canadian daily, weekly, monthly publication, recognized university or college student newspaper, or broadcast by any radio or television station in Canada on some aspect of university and college education that is of major significance are eligible to be nominated. The works of Canadian journalists appearing in non-Canadian publications and broadcasts may also be considered.

Nominations which address the following issues are particularly encouraged: academic freedom; research ethics and integrity; educational accessibility and equity; funding and finances; and university and college governance.

Nominations may be made by faculty associations, media organizations or any other interested parties. Applicants may be self-nominating.

A panel of judges composed of journalists and faculty members in journalism and communications will screen and judge entries and recommend recipients of the award to the Canadian Association of University Teachers. The successful candidate will be recognized by CAUT at their annual Spring Council meeting in Ottawa.


Nominations should include the following


Professional Category

2020 — Jean-François Venne (University Affairs)
2019 — Zane Schwartz (Maclean's)
2018 — Robert Cribb and collaborators (Toronto Star)
2017 — Charles Rusnell & Jennie Russell (CBC Edmonton)
2016 — Jonathan Sher (London Free Press)
2015 — Nick Martin (Winnipeg Free Press)
2014 — Margaret Munro (Postmedia News)
2013 — Theresa Tedesco (National Post)
2012 — Rosanna Tamburri (University Affairs)
2011 — Mark MacKinnon (The Globe and Mail)
2011 — Rod Mickleburgh (The Globe and Mail)
2010 — Sharon Lem (Toronto Sun)
2009 — Douglas Todd (Vancouver Sun)
2008 — Elizabeth Church (The Globe and Mail)
2007 — Janet Steffenhagen (The Vancouver Sun)
2006 — Stephen LaRose (Prairie Dog Magazine)
2005 — Harriet Eisenkraft (Freelance journalist)
2004 — Anne Dowsett Johnston (Maclean's)
2003 — Nick Martin (Winnipeg Free Press)
2002 — Ann McIlroy (The Globe and Mail)

Student Category

2020 — Tyler Griffin (VICE Canada)
2017 — Samah Ali & Jenny Jay (The Western Gazette)
2016 — Rachael Grant (Nexus)
2015 — Angelyn Francis (Toronto Today)
2014 — Jonny Wakefield (The Ubyssey)
2013 — Carolina Millán Ronchetti (McGill Tribune)
2012 — Erin Hudson (McGill Daily)
2011 — Ashley Gaboury (The Manitoban)
2010 — Nora Loreto & Rebecca Granovsky-Larsen (Ryerson Free Press)
2009 — Melissa Tobin (University of Kings College)
2008 — Jon Roe (The Gauntlet)
2007 — Momoko Price (The Ubyssey)
2006 — Phillip Koch (The Gradzette)
2005 — Jeff Carolin (The McGill Daily)
2004 — Erik Warwaruk (The Manitoban)
2003 — Zach Dubinsky (Montreal Gazette)
2002 — Simon Rabinovitch (The McGill Daily)